Belgian-Chinese Chamber of Commerce (BCECC)

China announces visa-free policy for Belgium!

Good news for Belgian travelers to China: if you are a Belgian citizen and you plan to travel to China for no more than 15 days, you don’t need to apply for a visa for China anymore.

China has decided to expand the scope of visa-free countries and implement a pilot visa-free policy for ordinary passport holders from six countries: Switzerland, Ireland, Hungary, Austria, Belgium, and Luxembourg. This ‘trial period’ starts on March 14 and ends on November 30, 2024. Ordinary passport holders can enter China without a visa if they come to China for business, tourism, visiting relatives and friends, and transit for no more than 15 days. Previously some other European countries have enjoyed visa-free entry to China, including France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands and Spain.

This good news was announced at a press conference in Beijing on 7 March 2024 by Wang Yi, member of the Political Bureau of the CPC Central Committee and Minister of Foreign Affairs.

Please contact the Belgian-Chinese Chamber of Commerce (BCECC) in case you need more information.